Instant Chai Tea Mix

chai tea

Instant Chai Tea Mix

Batch makes approximately 6 cups | 1 1/2 quarts

Serving size: 3 Tablespoons per 8 oz of water

I love Chai Tea! I go on these binges where it is all I am drinking daily. There is something about the hot tea infused with spices. I tried the instant packets in the store along with the liquid forms where you add milk. What I have found is that both of those options are super sweet for my taste so I set out to find something I could just add water to.

Over the course of  last year, I tried about 6 different recipes and all of them were spice strong and overpowering due to the levels of the spices. I tried to tweak the recipes but had abandoned the idea my perfect cup of instant chai.

Today I woke up wanting chai so made one last attempt.  I just made a batch (test batch #7) and think I have finally found a recipe I like, not overpowering and not sickly sweet, which makes me incredibly happy. Thought I would share.

Local Peeps: If you do not want to make an entire batch, know me and want to try some,  stop by for a cup!

Ingredients

  • 1 cup nonfat dry milk powder
  • 1 cup powdered non-dairy creamer
  • 1 cup french vanilla flavored powdered non-dairy creamer
  • 2 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups unsweetened instant tea
  • 6 teaspoons King Arthur Chai Tea Spice powder

If you cannot get the chai tea spice powder above try the following:

  • 2 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cardamom
  •  1 teaspoons ground allspice
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground anise
  • 1/4 teaspoon black pepper

Directions

  1. In a large bowl combine the first 5 ingredients.
  2. Stir in the chai tea powder.
  3. Sift the mixture, one cup at a time, into an airtight container. This should weed out all the chunks of spice and ingredients. You want a fine powder.
  4. To make a cup add 3 tablespoon full into a mug of 8 oz. of hot water. (This is my preference but add to your taste)
Leave a Reply

