A different kind of Chocolate Chip cookie

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Its been a while since I last posted so this is long overdue!
On my Instagram account, I saw a post for an article for the Best Blogs to Follow. They of course were all baking related, I mean c’mon its me!
I get inspiration from everywhere, a pattern on a wall, shoes, others creations and also my own imagination. One of the blogs was called Butter Baking and she had some great photos of her creations.
As I was going through the photos on Instagram I saw one of a chocolate chip cookie that looks like the kind I love…chewy on the inside, crispy on the outside. So I clicked for the recipe and was surprised at one of the ingredients, speculoos or cookie butter. I was intrigued. I had never heard of it before but I wanted to know more.
I imagined it was going to be similar to Nutella and man was I so freaking right. It IS like Nutella in the sense that you want to eat it with a spoon right out of the jar. So dang good. I am not sure how I did not know about it before. After doing some research on it I learned its more of a European or Australian ingredient, although I saw that Trader Joe’s sells it.

I ordered my jar of Biscoff online from Amazon. See the item below.

Biscoff
I set out to try it and I really loved the results, this might be my new favorite cookie! I tried it both after mixing it and baking and after freezing the dough and baking and loved them both ways.

Chocolate Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup unsalted butter, softened
  • ½ cup superfine sugar (C&H)
  • ½ cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg (farm fresh from a friend’s chickens)
  • 1 egg yolk (farm fresh from a friend’s chickens)
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • ½ cup  Biscoff cookie spread (Cookie Butter)
  • 2 ¼ cups flour (King Arthur)
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cornstarch
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 ¼ cups chocolate chips, I used dark Guittard chips

Instructions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 F and line trays with silpat or parchment paper.
  2. Using a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy.
  3. Add in the egg, yolk and vanilla until combined. Add in the Biscoff cookie spread until incorporated.
  4. On a low speed, add in the flour,  baking soda, cornstarch and salt, until just combined. Add the chocolate chips.
  5. Scoop or spoon (tablespoon) balls of dough on the lined trays.
  6. Bake for 9 – 10 minutes, until just golden around the edges.
  7. Allow to cool.

Makes 20 cookies.

Here is a link to the original recipe from the blog Butter Baking.

If you have any questions or if you try it let me know what you think.

Enjoy!

-Tara

Chocolate Chip Cookies

3 responses to “A different kind of Chocolate Chip cookie

  1. Which reminds me, I too wanted to give chocolate chip cookies a twist and made a peanut butter and banana chocolate chip cookie, so ridiculously delicious!!!

Leave a Reply

