Nutella Banana Crepes

Nutella Banana Crepe

Sometime back my Mom got me this crepe set from one of her thrift store adventures. It is called Crepe Magician. I have had it packed away in the box until this morning when I was moving things around looking for my madeleine pan (I’m going to attempt these later today after chores). I pulled it down to finally take a look at what the heck was in the box. Inside the box was a small crepe pan and a container for freezing or storing the crepes once made.

I have actually never made crepes so I thought now is as good a time as any. It did not have instructions but I just went with it. I found a basic crepe batter online and I started mixing things up. At first, I had intended to eat it plain or with preserves, lemon or powdered sugar but then I saw the Nutella and the banana in my pantry and it was a done deal.

I have no idea why I have never tried this recipe before especially with the Nutella and banana… oh boy is it good, too good really. Actually, maybe I sub-conscientiously avoided it because I knew I would love it.  I am going to try out some savory ones with the extra crepes because if I don’t it’s going to be a Nutella fest for breakfast, lunch and dinner or anytime I am hungry!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 cups milk
  • 4 large eggs
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • Bananas
  • Nutella

Directions:

  1. In a bowl with a mixer, combine flour, sugar, salt, milk, eggs, and melted butter. A blender would be best if you have one.

  2. Blend until mixture is smooth and bubbles form on top. If you are not using a blender, pour the batter through a sieve to catch the lumps of flour, press through all the liquid. Let batter sit at least 15 minutes at room temperature or refrigerate in an airtight container, up to 1 day. Stir.

  3. Heat a non stick skillet on medium-high. Lightly coat with butter. Add 1/3 cup batter and swirl to completely cover bottom of skillet. Cook until underside of crepe is golden brown, 2 – 3 minutes.

  4. Loosen edge of crepe with a rubber spatula, then with your fingertips, quickly flip. Cook 1 minute more. Slide crepe out of skillet and repeat with remaining batter. Coat pan with butter each time.

Tara’s Note: I do not have a blender, yes shocking I know so I just whisked it together. I made a stack and froze them with parchment paper in between in a gallon ziplock bags to take out for later use. Also just as a side note for 4 crepes (6 inch) I used 1 banana and about 1/2 cup of Nutella.

3 responses to “Nutella Banana Crepes

  1. Pingback: Friday Favourites: The Foodie in Me and Food Blogs | Creative Writing For Me·

Leave a Reply

