Hazelnut Coffee Ice Cream

hazelnut coffee ice cream

Coffee Ice cream is my favorite flavor of ice cream. It has always been the number one flavor for as long as I can remember. Prior to that it was chocolate, which is my second favorite. Nutella/ Chocolate Hazelnut would complete the top three favorite flavors of ice cream, if they made it. I haven’t really seen it anywhere.

I checked my ice cream maker’s recipe book to try out the coffee flavor but then I got side tracked with a video of one of my favorite foodie celebrity, Nigella Lawson. She was making coffee ice cream that seemed so dang easy using no ice cream machine and with 4 ingredients, so I had to try it.

At first, I almost by passed it because of conversion measurements and it called for double cream which it something not easy to get in the states. Then I decided to find the best substitution and see what happens because, cooooofffffeeeeee ice cream y’all!

The results were an uber and I do mean UBER rich and creamy and coffee-eee (can this be a word for now?) flavor. It was almost like a gelato but I will admit I eye-balled the ingredients and did not measure exactly. For my tastes one lil tablespoon scoop was enough when usually its like a couple of scoops. I had some taste testers over, (Thank You Chris & Alex) and they both seemed to really enjoy it. I guess it really is all about your preference.

I would absolutely make it again as it was a very easy recipe. In fact, I need to try it again so I can make sure I really liked it. 🙂

If you give it a try let me know what you think.

Here is a link to Nigella’s website for the original recipe: Nigella’s One Step No Churn Coffee Ice Cream

Tara

Ingredients:

  • 1 ¼ cups heavy whipping cream
  • cup sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 tablespoons instant espresso powder (not espresso coffee) 
  • 2 tablespoons hazelnut liqueur

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients together in the bowl of your mixer.
  2. Beat all the ingredients together until soft peaks form.
  3. Fill ice cream containers or airtight containers and freeze for 6 hours minimum. I let mine freeze overnight.
  4. Scoop and enjoy!

hazelnut coffee ice cream

One response to “Hazelnut Coffee Ice Cream

  1. Pingback: Ice Cream, Frozen Yogurt, Sorbet Treats | Taras Kitchen Online Blog·

Leave a Reply

