Chai Pancakes

Chai Pancakes

I had some leftover chai tea in my teapot that I was finished drinking but did not throw out. I was trying to think of recipes I could use it in and thought pancakes! I am not sure why I hadn’t thought of making this before since I love my chai and have it at least once a week and definitely every weekend. The end product did not disappoint one bit. It’s lightly flavored with Chai and exactly how I like them soft and not so cake-like the mixes usually are.

This weekend I had it both Saturday and Sunday, I loved it so much. And…. I made some extra’s to freeze so I can take it to work and have it for breakfast this week. What to have, breakfast dilemma solved!

This recipe is for a smaller batch so if you need a normal size recipe you might want to double it.

If you try the recipe, let me know what you think.

Enjoy,

Tara

Ingredients:

  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 vanilla yogurt
  • 1/4 cup strong brewed black chai tea (you could also use that liquid chai tea mix from Starbucks or mix up a home blend of chai tea spices and use that in the recipe for a stronger chai tea flavor)
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted and cooled down a bit
  • 1/4  teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 cups flour
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Directions:

  1. In a medium-sized bowl beat egg. Next add yogurt, chai tea, butter and vanilla and mix well.
  2. Add dry ingredients, flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Mix until all dry ingredients are incorporated. It may be lumpy still but that’s okay.
  3. Turn on griddle on medium and add a lil butter or cooking spray (whatever your preference is).
  4. Using a tablespoon scoop out batter forming lil rounds (or large ones if you prefer). Cook until you see bubbles on the edges of your cake. You still want to check to make sure your cakes are not browning too much, if so turn down your heat a tad. Once you see a bit of bubbles flip with a spatula. Continue until batter is depleted or make a few and refrigerate the rest of the batter for the next day.
  5. You can keep them warm on an oven friendly dish on 200 until you are ready to serve.

Optional: Serve with jam, powdered sugar, syrup or butter. Although I found it did not need any toppings and was delicious by itself.

One response to “Chai Pancakes

Leave a Reply

