Banana Bread with a Twist

Wheat Chia Banana Bread

In honor of Banana Bread day I thought I would bake up a couple of loaves. I love the traditional banana bread but I wanted to try something different.

I generally try to replace some of the all-purpose flour with wheat flour when I can. In most recipes I have not been able to taste a difference and I am adding a better for you element. This time I also added some chia seeds. I have been trying to find ways to use the chia seeds and flax seeds stash that I have. I usually use them in smoothies and have added them in cookies.

Makes 2 Loaves

Ingredients:

  • 6 bananas, very ripe
  • 1 tsp. lemon juice or 1/4 lemon zest
  • 1  1 /4 cups wheat pastry flour
  • 2 cups of all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1  1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 tbsp. chia seeds
  • 2 cups sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup vegetable oil

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Prepare two loaf pans by spraying lightly with cooking spray or you can butter.
  3. Place the bananas, lemon, sugar, eggs, and oil into the food processor (or mix by hand)
  4. Pulse for 30 seconds or until smooth.
  5. Sift together flours, baking powder, baking soda, salt and chia seeds in a medium mixing bowl.
  6. Set aside. Pour wet mixture into dry mixture and fold until just combined.
  7. Divide batter evenly between the loaf pans.
  8. Bake until tester inserted near the center comes out clean, about 55 minutes.
  9. Cool the loaves in the pans for a few minutes, then remove the bread from the pans, transfer to cooling racks.

I would suggest mashing the bananas and mixing things up by hand. I chose the food processor because my arm/wrist was hurting this weekend. Depending on your preference you can also add a dash of cinnamon or nutmeg. I would also suggest cooling completely before slicing otherwise it will crack (like in the photo). I just couldn’t wait to let it cool, I wanted to have a hot piece.

Leave a Reply

