Butternut Squash and Spinach Lasagna Rolls

Spinach & Squash Lasagna I decided to try out a meatless recipe for Meatless Monday this week. I love lasagna but it’s not real great for me with acid reflux issues so I set out to find something without the red sauce. I really enjoyed this version of the recipe I found on the net, compiled of like 4 different recipes. Like all my recipes I use whatever I can find in my fridge which is why there are things like red onions and vampire slayer cheddar cheese.  I will also add that I used 2 bunches of fresh spinach and cooked it down, cooled and then squeezed out the liquid as I didn’t have the frozen spinach. I got home around 6 started prepping and cooking and I sat down to eat at 7:30-7:40. This was mainly because I did not prep as I usually do. If I didn’t have to deal with the squashor fresh spinach and prepped it the day before this would of shaved off maybe 30-40 minutes of time. It just takes 40 mins to cook and the recipe is definitely a keeper. Each roll is under 300 calories but you can enter the ingredients into my fitness pal or another app based on your ingredients. The cheddar upped the calorie count a lil bit and Parmesan would be somewhat less. Anyway, try it and see what you think… Make it your own!

Ingredients:

Sauce:

  • 1 lb butternut squash, peeled and diced
  • 1 tsp olive oil
  • 1/4 cup red or white onions, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 tbsp fresh grated cheese
  • salt and black pepper, to taste

Filling:

  • 9  lasagna noodles, cooked
  • 10 oz package frozen chopped spinach, heated and squeezed well
  • 15 oz fat free ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup grated cheese (Parmesan or cheddar) I used a cheddar called Vampire Slayer.
  • 1 large egg
  • salt and pepper
  • 3 oz part skim shredded cheese , I chose the Italian mix

Directions:

  1. Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil. Add butternut squash and cook until soft.
  2. Remove squash, reserve about 1 cup of the water and set aside.
  3. Add squash to food processor and blend until smooth. Alternately you can use an immersion blender and blend until smooth. (I don’t have one) Add about 1/4 cup  of the reserved liquid to thin out.
  4. In a large non-stick skillet, add the oil, sauté the onions and garlic over medium-low heat until soft, about 4 minutes.
  5. Add pureed butternut squash, season with with salt and pepper. Add a little of the reserved water to thin mixture if needed.
  6. Stir in 2 1/2 tablespoons of the cheese and set aside.
  7. Preheat oven to 350°F. Ladle about 1/2 cup butternut sauce sauce on the bottom of a 9 x 12 baking dish.
  8. Combine spinach, ricotta, 1/2 cup vampire slayer cheddar cheese, egg, salt and pepper in a medium bowl.
  9. Place a silpat/dish towel on the counter and lay out lasagna noodles. Make sure noodles are dry. Take 1/3 cup of ricotta mixture and spread evenly over noodle. Roll carefully and place seam side down onto the baking dish. Repeat with remaining noodles.
  10. Ladle about 1 cup of sauce over the noodles in the baking dish and top each one with 1 tbsp cheese. Cover with foil over baking dish and bake for 40 minutes.
3 responses to “Butternut Squash and Spinach Lasagna Rolls

  1. My craving for Italian food is irresistible! Can I use caramelized onions instead of raw onions? Plz suggest…

    • I think caramelized would be super yummy! I love caramelized onions on its own, its so yummy and adds such a delicious flavor. Let me know how it turns out!!

      • Yeah, the recipe will be a bit on the sweeter side, which I think is the specialty of caramelized onions.

Leave a Reply

