Garlic Chicken Stir Fry over Parmesan Polenta

Weird combination right? Sounds so but I found this concoction to be oh so delicious!

garlicchickenstirfrypolenta

This weekend I wanted to make a dish with some veggies that I had in the fridge. The veggies were just about to head into that state where its saggy and sad-looking. It was a busy and tiring week that by the time I got home, I was just not in the mood to cook. So the veggies sat all week. I had a chicken breast and so I decided it a stir-fry would be quick and easy. Initially, I wanted just the chicken and veggies but then I thought it would be even better over polenta and so it started my adventure.

I had not paired this combo before but I can tell you I was most pleased with the results.

The chicken had tons of minced garlic, cooked in a wok over high heat and near the end I added the peppers and onions. For some reason I wanted to make it saucy so I added some Redd’s Apple beer while cooking. I just happen to be having some while I was cooking so in it went.

I am definitely one of those home cooks who like throwing together whatever is in my fridge and combining this and that to see how it works out. I am always so very lucky that the results work in my favor. I sooo hate to waste food.

If you try it let me know what you think.

-Tara

Garlic Chicken Stir Fry

Ingredients

  • 2 tbsp oil (I used olive but peanut would work well)
  • 1 heaping tbsp minced garlic
  • 1 tsp  salt or garlic Mrs. Dash
  • 1 lb  boneless skin less chicken breasts cut into cubes
  • 1 medium white onion thinly sliced
  • 1 yellow bell pepper sliced
  • 1  red bell pepper sliced
  • 1/2 cup of Redd’s Apple Ale
  • Parmesan Polenta recipe

Instructions

Heat oil in a wok or large skillet. I used an electric wok. When oil begins to smoke, quickly stir in 1/2 of minced garlic, onions and salt. Stir fry until the onion becomes translucent, about 2 minutes. Add chicken and stir until opaque, about 3 minutes.

Add remaining minced garlic and stir. Add bell peppers, stir a bit and cover for about 3 minutes.

Add apple ale to wok/skillet and stir until chicken and vegetables are coated with the thickened sauce about 5 minutes. Serve over Parmesan Polenta.

Leave a Reply

