Curried Chicken

curriedchicken

Curried Chicken is something I have grown up with and love very much.  As an adult though, it is something I rarely make because my version of it never comes out like my Mom’s. She is the curried chicken queen. Her style is super flavorful, not overwhelming of curry and just plain amazing. Over the years each time I have tried it, it came out more American or restaurant style which is not what I wanted. I realized that this was because of me altering the recipe to add things I wanted like chicken breast versus chicken thighs or not using the correct kind of curry.

This weekend I was inspired to give it another try. I borrowed my Mom’s Trinidad and Tobago cookbook that has some home recipes in them. I tried to follow the recipe exactly, trying not to altering it to much ..hehe.

The results were delicious! I have to admit, although still not looking like Mom’s, I love my version of curried chicken where the smaller potatoes disintegrate and makes for a thicker curry sauce like in the photo. Its almost like eating a hearty stew but over rice. Still I will need to make it again. I have to duplicate Mom’s version at least once in my life!!

Here’s the recipe I used…

Ingredients:

  • 3 lbs boneless chicken thighs
  • 2 medium potatoes, cut into medium 1 1/2 inch pieces.
  • 1  teaspoon minced garlic
  • 2  tablespoons green seasoning (found in most West Indian grocery stores. If unable to find minced thyme, cilantro and green onion will work)
  • 1  teaspoon salt
  • 2  tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 3 -4  tablespoons curry powder
  • 1/2 cup chopped tomato
  • 1/2 cup  chopped onion
  • 1/2 cup hot water

Directions:

  1. Cut chicken into medium pieces and season with garlic, green seasoning, salt. Marinate for 30 minutes or more.
  2. Heat oil in an iron pot or skillet.
  3. Mix curry powder with 1/4 cup of water until smooth; add to hot oil and cook 2 minutes.
  4. Add chicken ad potatoes and stir to coat in curry; cook until all water dries out; stir well (about 10 minutes).
  5. Add tomatoes and onion; cook for a minute; stir in 1/2 cup hot water.
  6. Lower heat to medium; cover and cook until meat is tender; add more water if more sauce is necessary.
  7. Adjust salt and pepper.

Tara’s Notes:

First couple of steps for me and trying a new recipe are usually prep. Get all the ingredients out of the pantry and onto the counter, measure out everything and cut the veggies.

The other item I discovered is to make sure the potatoes are the same size and not to small. If too small it tends to disintegrate into the sauce, which is not a bad thing. I actually like it better this way but it is not how it is usually made.

Leave a Reply

