Delicious and Healthy Smoothies

Smoothies, its the easiest thing to make in the mornings before you head out or as an anytime treat.

I used to stop into Jamba juice any chance I could get for a delicious boost filled smoothie before I learned to make them at home.

My most favorite smoothie to make is my Breakfast Smoothie, that’s what I call it anyway. It has various fruits (whatever is in my freezer at the time) Costco’s Sweet Kale Salad, yogurt and tiny bit of milk. It is super filling and to me it tastes pretty good for having the green stuff mixed in there. I know your thinking kale salad, what the hell, but this smoothie helps to gives me the vitamin boost I need while also being a healthy breakfast!

I have a couple of versions of the recipe. One for a single serving and one that serves two. If I do the double serving I drink one cup for breakfast and take the other to work to drink later.

You can customize to your tastes to make your favorite smoothie. Sometimes I add organic honey (1tsp) when available in place of the juice and sometimes I add 3 -5 types of fruit depending on my stock.

I blend my smoothies in an the Oster MyBlend which allows me to blend and take the cup to go.

OsterMyBlend

Recipe name: Blueberry Banana, Raspberry Smoothie -12oz

Number of servings: Serves 1 people
*****************************************
Ingredients
Calories Carbs Fat Protein Sodium Sugar
Blueberries – Wild Blueberries, Fresh Frozen, 0.5 cup (140g) 30 9 0 0 0 5
Costco Sweet Kale Salad – Salad (Only), 0.5 cup 8 2 0 1 0 0
Bananas – Raw, 0.25 cup, sliced 33 9 0 0 0 5
Mountain High – Vanilla Yogurt, 0.25 cup 53 8 2 2 35 6
Lucerne – 2% Lowfat Milk, 0.5 cup 70 8 3 5 75 7
Raspberries – Frozen (Great Value, No Sugar Added), 0.5 cup 40 9 0 1 0 3
Total per each serving:    234 45 5 9 110 26  
*****************************************

The other version I use is the following: (it all depends on what fruits I get on sale or in season)

Recipe name: Tara’s Breakfast Smoothie – 16oz

Number of servings: Serves 2 people
*****************************************
Ingredients Calories Carbs Fat Protein Sodium Sugar
Blueberries – Raw, 0.75 cup 62 16 0 1 1 11
Eat Smart – Sweet Kale Vegetable Salad Mix – Veg Only, 1 Cup (50g) 15 3 0 1 15 1
Fresh Fruit – Stawberries, 0.25 cup 13 2 1 0 1 1
Cacadian Fresh – Yogurt Vanilla, 0.25 cup 37 7 0 2 30 5
Costco’s Eat Smart Sweet Kale Salad (794g – Fruits and Seeds Only , 0.5 tbsp (12g) 23 4 1 1 13 3
Lucerne – 2% Lowfat Milk, 0.25 cup 35 4 1 3 38 4
Dole – 100% Juice Orange Peach Mango, 2 oz 30 7 0 0 3 7
Total per each serving:      215  43  8  101  32
*****************************************
Check out my 5 days of smoothies starting on January 7th. Each day I will have a new healthy but yummy recipe posted!

Want to make smoothies just like the Jamba Juice ones? Check them out at Top Secret Recipes.

To see the ingredients in Jamba Juice’s Smoothies so that you can concoct your own homemade version, Go Here.

To Read More on Heart Healthy Recipes, please go here:  Jamba Juice Takes Healthy Living to Heart!

Have a favorite smoothie recipe that you love? Share it below.
Enjoy,
Tara
One response to “Delicious and Healthy Smoothies

  1. I forgot to mention my morning Smoothie gives me tons of energy and fuel to get through my morning until lunch and not to mention it makes me feel great! If you give it a try let me know. I would love to know what you thought of it.

Leave a Reply

