Ovaltine Cereal Bars

Ovaltine Bars

Ovaltine Bars

Sometimes, you just want a lil something sweet to eat that is not super sugary or bad for you, oh and doesn’t involve baking. Not possible you say? Its sooo possible. There are so many great homemade treats out there, you just have to hunt them down.

I think I have found a favorite in these bars. I actually took a look at my pantry and saw my favorite before bed drink and thought, I wonder if I could make something out of that. Did a lil searching and found a recipe I liked. I don’t really taste the Ovaltine flavor but its definitely chocolaty.

As many of you may know, I am a huge Nutella fan but I wanted something different. Not to worry, I will probably try to add some Nutella in the recipe next time. The calorie count is about 110 or so per bar so not to bad and only contains natural sweetener (raw honey I got from my friend who keeps bees). Ovaltine does have sugar tho so that’s apart of the sweet yummy taste. It is rather sticky but oh so yummy and better for you than most snacks.

I’m going to give some to my friends tonight and see what they think.

Give it a try and tell me what you think.

Recipe adapted from meals.com.

obar8

Ovaltine Cereal Bar

Ingredients:

  • Nonstick cooking spray (I used coconut)
  • 2/3 cup honey
  • 1/3 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1/4 cup Ovaltine
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups crispy rice cereal
  • 1/2 cup old-fashioned oats
  • 1/3 mini chocolate chips (optional)
  • 1/3 cup dried raisins, cranberries or cherries
  • 1/3  cup slivered almonds, nuts or sunflower seeds

Directions:

  1. Line 9-inch-square baking pan with silpat, parchment paper or foil (leave some hanging out of the pan so you are able to remove the bars easier).  Spray with nonstick spray.
  2. Combine honey and peanut butter in large, microwave-safe bowl. Heat for 30 seconds. Stir until smooth. Stir in Ovaltine and vanilla until smooth. Add cereal, oats, raisins and nuts. Toss together until completely coated.
  3. Pour into prepared pan. With the back of a rubber spatula, press mixture into an even layer in the pan
  4. Cover and refrigerate for 1 hour. Cut into bars.
Leave a Reply

