Beef & Veggie Stir-fry

I have never made a stir-fry before. Can you believe it? All the cooking I have accomplished but never this. I suppose I was waiting until I brought a wok or a rice cooker.  A week or so ago my mom gave me both her spare wok and cooker she did not need anymore. Thanks Mom and Yay for me! However now, I had no excuse not to try out the basic recipe. So it’s on for dinner tonight!

I will admit that I did not follow a recipe but used what I had in my fridge, figuring after I tried it once I can look at recipe and figure out the flavor combos I wanted later.

I am happy to report, for a first time attempt, it was pretty darn good. I will definitely be trying it again! It was basic but nice, easy and quick!

Next time tho, I will try beef with broccoli, mandarin orange segments, white onions, garlic and peppers. That just sounds amazing. Stay tuned for that recipe and future post!

WP_000780WP_000764WP_000753

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1 teaspoon garlic, minced
  • 1 tablespoon cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon fresh grated ginger
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tablespoon hoisin sauce
  • 3/4 pound top sirloin steak, thinly sliced against the grain
  • 2 teaspoons canola/vegetable oil
  • 1/2 white onion, sliced
  • 1 large carrot, cut diagonally into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • 1 celery stalk, cut diagonally into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • 1/2 red bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 green bell pepper, thinly sliced
  • 2 cups cooked  rice

Instructions

  1. Stir together soy sauce, garlic, cornstarch, ginger, 1/4 cup water, hoisin sauce, set aside.
  2. Heat 2 teaspoons oil in a large skillet or wok over medium-high heat 2 minutes.
  3. Add beef and carrot, and stir-fry 4 minutes.
  4. Add soy sauce mixture, and stir-fry 1 minute.
  5. Add bell peppers, celery, and white onions, and stir-fry 3 minutes until tender-crisp.
  6. Serve over rice.

Tara’s Notes: Make sure to slice the veggies thin and uniform as possible so all of the veggies cook at the same rate.

Leave a Reply

