Apple, Pear, Cranberry Crisp with Oatmeal Streusel Topping

Tara’s Crisp

I love crisps because they are super fast and easy. I have tried many recipes with various fruit. What I have found is that a crisp anytime is good with whatever season’s fruit I am in.  Right now its Fall so apples, pears or cranberries are good. In fact in my Tara’s crisp, I combine all of the above fruits into my recipe for a variety of textures and flavors I love!

Ingredients

Topping

1 cup (packed) golden brown sugar

1 cup old-fashioned oats

1 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup (1 stick) chilled unsalted butter, cut into pieces

Fruit Filling

3/4 cup of dried cranberries (or whatever dried fruit on-hand)

1 Gala apple peeled, cored sliced thin

2 Pears peeled, cored sliced thin

3 TBSP sugar

2 tablespoons lemon juice

1/2 tsp cinnamon (optional)

Vanilla ice cream

Directions

For Topping: Combine brown sugar, oats, flour, and salt in large bowl; toss to blend. Add butter and rub in with fingertips until mixture comes together in moist clumps. Cover; chill while preparing filling. (Topping can be prepared 2 day ahead; keep chilled.)

For Filling: Pre-heat oven to 375°F. Generously butter 13x9x2 inch glass baking dish.  Combine cranberries, pears, apples, sugar in a bowl. Transfer filling to prepared dish. Sprinkle topping over.

Bake crisp until filling bubbles thickly and topping is crisp and deep golden brown, about 40 minutes. Let cool 10 minutes. Serve with ice cream.

Makes 12 servings

Tara’s Notes:

  • Sometimes I just don’t bother peeling my pears. Just chop them up and throw them in.
  • Sometimes I simmer the cranberries with cinnamon and apples all together.
  • Sometimes I also add chopped pecans to the topping.

Last and healthy Note: Lately what I have done is prep the above recipe, cut fruit, season then put in glass container. Do the same with the topping in a separate container. Then whatever day I feel like having a treat, I make 1 serving in my lil ramekins and bake in the oven. This helps me from eating more than 1 portion in a sitting but I get that lil bit of a sweet treat when I want.  The fruit lasted 8 days in my fridge (my setting is high/super cold almost freezing setting). The topping lasted for longer, in fact I still have half a Tupperware container. I noticed that I added less topping then I would if I had baked one whole pan. Another calorie cut FTW!

Enjoy!

-Tara

One response to “Apple, Pear, Cranberry Crisp with Oatmeal Streusel Topping

  1. This is very attention-grabbing, You are an overly professional blogger.
    I have joined your rss feed and stay up for in search of more of your magnificent post.
    Additionally, I have shared your website in my social networks

Leave a Reply

