Deep Dark Mocha Cupcakes

So I finally decided to make these cupcakes.

I got the recipe from this very kewl Food Blogger known as Joy the Baker. She sponsored this monthly baking gift called Njoy which contained some kewl things each month.

One of them was a King Arthur themed baking gift that contained cupcake wrappers, instant espresso powder, dark cocoa powder, (real) chocolate sprinkles and a few other things. Inside the box she included a recipe card for Deep Dark Mocha cupcakes.

I am not a mega chocolate fan but they looked really good.

I have tried to make it for the last month but the temperature in Seattle has been too warm to put on the oven type deal so I have put it off. Yes, we go get sun in Seattle from time to time. Now that it cooling off I took advantage to bake.

I had a few lil things that I did in the recipe. I made my own buttermilk because wouldn’t you know it I was out of it when I went to make it and was too lazy to go to the store for one item. I also used homemade vanilla I made. I used aged Rum from Trinidad (from my last visit) and a few vanilla beans. I also used a ton of the King Arthur items I received from the Njoy goodie box. The final change was that I used ½ wheat flour and ½ white flour, also King Arthur brand. The ingredients, in my opinion do make a hellava lot of difference.

These cupcakes were really good! Why do I think they are good, you say?

Well my top 5 reasons are as follows.

  1. They made only made 1 dozen cupcakes and looks like it can easily be sized down to make a smaller batch for a single person!
  2. The ingredients/recipe were simple and good.
  3. There are no eggs so batter tasting was in full effect.
  4. The layering of the dark chocolate cupcake, layered with coffee butter cream layered with the chocolate sprinkles work extremely well. Not over powering at all.
  5. They freaking taste as amazing as they sound and look!

I brought them to work to share with my work mates and got some really good feedback. They were a hit!

So without further delay, the recipe…

Deep Dark Mocha Cupcakes
via Joy The Baker

makes one dozen, YES!

Ingredients:

Cupcakes:

  • 1 cup plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour (King Arthur)
  • 1 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup double-dutch cocoa (King Arthur)
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon instant espresso (King Arthur)
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup buttermilk (homemade)
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract (homemade)

Coffee/Espresso Buttercream:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, softened
  • 3 cups sifted powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract (homemade)
  • 2 teaspoon hot water
  • 1 teaspoon instant espresso (King Arthur)

Instructions:

Cupcake:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees
  2. Line cupcake pan with paper liners and set aside
  3. In a large bowl sift the dry ingredients together and set aside in a medium bowl whisk together the oil, buttermilk, and vanilla. Slowly whisk the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients being careful not to over-mix.
  4. Spoon the batter into the prepared cups and place in the oven for 20-24 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cup comes out clean.
  5. Cool in the pan for 10 minutes then place on a wire rack until completely cool before topping with espresso buttercream.

Buttercream:

  1. In the bowl of an electric stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, or just a regular bowl with a hand mixer, beat butter and one third of the sugar. Beat until thick and incorporated.
  2. In a tiny bowl stir together vanilla, hot water, and espresso powder. Stir until the powder is dissolved.
  3. Add the remaining sugar and espresso mixture to the bowl. Beat on medium speed until smooth and slightly fluffy.
  4. Spread on cooled cupcakes and top with chocolate sprinkles.

One response to “Deep Dark Mocha Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Deep Dark Mocha Cupcakes | Taras Creations Online·

Leave a Reply

