Nutella Hot Chocolate

Nutella Hot Cocoa

So its been snowing up in Seattle, blizzard style but not really. Just seems like a blizzard because we are not used to it here in the NorthWest. Lot’s of working from home days this week, which I love and also which drives me crazy being stuck in the house. While I am working and being stuck I was thinking of what kind of beverage would be great today. I had coffee at 5:30 am and that did nothing for me. Then went to my 1st love, tea with milk and sparkly blue and purple sugar and that was surprisingly not hitting the spot. Then I thought hot chocolate…thats it!  But when I looked for some, I ran out of swiss miss so decided to make a homemade version. I was reaching for the powdered cocoa and then I saw the bottle of Nutella and then it was all over!

I had never tried to make it before and didn’t have a recipe in any of my books so I just winged it. And Oh My Goodness… it’s freaking GOOD.

Custom flavored just perfect for me heaven in a glass mug! YUM!

Here’s the scoop:

Nutella Hot Chocolate

Ingredients

1 cup milk (2%)
2 1/2 TBSP Nutella
1 TBSP Cocoa
Sm pinch of salt

Directions for Cocoa

In a small sauce pan over medium heat, whisk all ingredients together until well blended and hot.
Pour in a cup and top with homemade whipped cream and a sprinkle of cocoa.

Homemade whipped cream

1 CUP heavy whipping cream
1/2 TSP caramel sauce or enough to slightly flavor/sweeten the whipped cream

You can use the mixer or whip by hand. I choose to mix by hand.

In Mixer: Pour all ingredients into a bowl and start to beat. Start off on low and gradually work your way up to high until whipped cream consistency.

By Hand: Place all ingredients into a bowl and whisk with a wire whisk. Continue to whip until whipped cream consistency.

3 responses to “Nutella Hot Chocolate

  1. Its definitely perfect for that snowy day any place! I wonder how much longer this snow will last.
    Beth: I cannot believe its still snowing either!

Leave a Reply

