Cookies Across America – Cookie Decorating for Charity

Cookie Lovers Unite! Make a difference by baking cookies.

In December 2010, Allrecipes.com launched Cookies Across America to encourage our community of home cooks to bake and share cookies with people in need.  On 12/10/11, I was fortunate enough to be invited to a cookie decorating event for charity.

Allrecipes.com Headquarters in Westlake Center hosted a Cookies Decorating party on Saturday, December 10th, 2011 from 10am-12pm, inviting the Allrecipes.com community, local bloggers, and cookie lovers, to drop in and decorate cookies that was donated to the Pikes Place Senior Center. This event was geared for all who want to give back by spreading a little Christmas cheer this holiday. season.

Early Saturday morning I headed down to Seattle near Westlake to AllRecipes.com HQ. When I arrived I was greeted by the organizer Ivory and given instructions on how to proceed. Cookies were laid out (4 per person) and ready for us, along with Hot Cocoa and treats to nibble on. All the tables had icing tools and sprinkles of all sorts to decorate your cookies with. When I arrived it was quite busy with a troop of girl scouts and other folks and family and friends. I found an empty seat next to a couple of cookie decorators and went to town.

The hosts were walking around making sure there were plenty of icing and supplies and were nice enough to give us extra cookies to decorate if we finished our set. I think I ended up decorating 2 dozen cookies by the time I finished as they kept bringing me more and more.

It was a fun time, meeting and chatting with new folks and decorating cookies for a good cause. I hope to be invited back next year!

To learn more about Cookies Across America and participate visit… http://allrecipes.com/features/cookies-across-america/

Check out some of my photos from the event:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

