Tara’s Fall Salad

Salad..

I am pretty picky about my salad. It is usually not the first thing I choose but I do enjoy it when it is prepared by me. It tastes better when I make it. Probably because I am putting exactly what I want on it, no tomatoes, onions, olives and blue cheese please. 

When I do make a salad it is usually the same base of ingredients, altered by season. In the summer I usually add fresh fruit to my salad. Plums, nectarines, apricots, grapes and whatever is in season. I also alternate on the cheeses like feta, parmesan or english cheddar. Whole Foods posted a recipe what is similar to my favorite salad: Salad with red grapes and feta. It also is simple and delicious.

For Fall, I like to add squash, pears, apples,  cranberries and pecans or walnuts to the mix. If I am in a hurry or starving, I just make a quick dressing of balsamic vinegar and extra virgin olive oil.  Let me know if you can think of another Fall ingredient to add.

Which reminds me…Another one of my favorite salad recipes that I also love, LOVE, is one of the Barefoot Contessa’s salad recipes: Roasted Butternut Squash Salad with Warm Cider Vinaigrette.  Same type of fall theme with a oh-so-delicious dressing.  Try them all and compare!

Tara’s Fall Salad

Ingredients:
1  apple of choice, thinly sliced
1/2 cup  butternut squash slices, quartered and already roasted
1/3 cup grapes, halved

spinach or spring mix

dressing:
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1.5 tsp balsamic vinegar
pinch of sea salt
1/2 tsp honey
1 tsp Dijon mustard

Directions:
Make the dressing first.

1) Blend all ingredients by hand. Set aside to assemble salad.
2) Begin with spring mix or spinach and add the  butternut squash slices, apple slices and grapes.
3) Drizzle with dressing.

Enjoy!

One response to “Tara’s Fall Salad

  1. Pingback: Tara’s Top 10 Pumpkin Recipes « Taras Kitchen Online Blog·

Leave a Reply

