Cream Scones

I was never that much of a fan of scones as they were crumbly and of the dry variety. I did not understand what people saw in them. One day I was having my best friend over for brunch and decided I would check out the recipe in my CIA cookbook. No, not that CIA… the Culinary Institute of America. I decided to make three different types of scones, a savory, a plain and fruit one just to see which one tested better. My poor best friend, I am always experimenting on her. Thanks Buddie for taking one for the team all this time. 

So, I went to mix the dough and OMG it was tasty. Yes, it is very important to taste the dough to make sure it’s not over salted. Quality control! I knew if the dough was good these scones might have a chance. I followed the recipe and baked them up and I was absolutely in love. These scones came out so soft, totally opposite from any I have had in the past. From that moment on any occasion or no occasion at all I make em. They are just freaking good. You should try them and let me know what you think. I Love LOVE the ham and cheese one. I often substitute fresh berries  in as well like blueberries, strawberries, raspberries or blackberries.

Culinary Institute of America (CIA) Cream Scones

Ingredients (Makes approx 10 small or 8 large scones)
3 cups bread flour
½ cup sugar
2 tablespoons baking powder
½ teaspoon salt
2 cups heavy cream
2 tablespoons milk
Directions
Cut two 10-inch circles of parchment or waxed paper. Use one to line a 10-inch round cake pan. Reserve the second piece. Sift the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt together into a mixing bowl. Make a well in the center of the flour mixture. Add the cream to the flour mixture and stir by hand just until the batter is evenly moistened. Place the dough into the lined cake pan and press into an even layer. Cover the dough with the second parchment paper circle. Freeze the dough until very firm, at least 12 hours. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Prepare a baking sheet by spraying it lightly with cooking spray or lining with parchment paper. Thaw the dough for 5 minutes at room temperature; turn it out of the cake pan onto a cutting board. Cut the dough into 10 equal wedges and place them on the baking sheet about 2 inches apart. Brush the scones with milk and sprinkle with the sugar. Bake the scones until golden brown, 30–40 minutes. Cool on the baking sheet for a few minutes then transfer to cooling racks. Serve the scones warm or at room temperature.
 
Dried Cranberry Orange Scones
Add one cup of dried cranberries, orange zest to the dry ingredients just before blending in the cream. Follow the remaining method as stated above.
 
Ham, Cheddar, and Scallion Scones
 Add one cup of medium-dice ham, one-half cup of medium dice Cheddar cheese or I use english cheddar (yum!), one-half cup of sliced scallions to the dry ingredients just before blending in the cream. Follow the remaining method as stated above.
5 responses to “Cream Scones

  1. Hello there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be okay.
    I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new updates.

  2. Pingback: Mother’s Day « Taras Kitchen Online Blog·

    • Thanks Rufus. Let me know if you try them and what you think. If you come up with any great savory scone recipes let me know! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Mother’s Day « Taras Kitchen Online Blog·

Leave a Reply

