Pumpkin Cloverleaf Rolls

So I found the cloverleaf recipe I like. Usually, after I find a favorite recipe I begin experimenting with new twists on the great recipe. I had some leftover pumpkin from my baking so I decided to see what it would do for my rolls. I am excited to say they are really pretty good. So now I have a 2-for-1, veggie/bread taken care of at holiday meals. Although, I’d love a second opinion.  Try it at home and see what you think.

1  cup milk 
1/2  cup sugar 
2  tablespoons butter or margarine 
1  teaspoon salt 
1  package regular or quick active dry yeast 
1/4  cup warm water (105°F to 115°F) 
1  cup mashed cooked winter pumpkin (1 medium) or 1 cup canned pumpkin 
4 1/2  cups all-purpose flour 

  1. Heat milk, sugar, butter and salt in 1-quart saucepan until butter is melted; cool to lukewarm. Dissolve yeast in warm water in large bowl. Stir in milk mixture, pumpkin and 2 cups of the flour. Beat with spoon until smooth. Stir in enough remaining flour to make dough easy to handle.
  2. Turn dough onto lightly floured surface. Knead about 5 minutes or until smooth and elastic. Place in greased bowl; turn greased side up. Cover and let rise in warm place about 1 1/2 hours or until double (Dough is ready if indentation remains when touched.)
  3. Grease 24 regular-size muffin cups. Punch down dough. Shape into 1-inch balls. Place 3 balls in each muffin cup. Cover and let rise in warm place 30 to 45 minutes or until double.
  4. Heat oven to 400°F. Bake 15 to 20 minutes or until golden brown

This works well with squash too.

Leave a Reply

