It’s Earth Day and April is National Gardening Month!

It’s Earth Day and April is National Gardening Month!

It’s time to celebrate National Gardening Month! April is all about cultivating your green thumb, and a few vegetables.

And since April 22 was christened Earth Day, Thursday is the perfect day to get out of the kitchen, and into the garden!

101 Ways to Celebrate Earth Day

Dig into these ideas to celebrate…

Take the Earth Day FootPrint Calculator. Take the quiz and find out the inpact YOU are having on the planet.

-Go There Now-

I did my part and planted some new plants in the garden and even attempted to plant some cucumbers and carrots I had from last year. Veggies seem very difficult to grow successfully but here’s hoping!

Tips on Growing Herbs… Go there Now.

During the Winter months I order via a organic veggies/fruit service. During the Summer months I like to hit the local Farmers Market and select my veggies for the week.

The local Market begins in May!

Until then I will be trying new recipes for all the yummy items in my Organic bin.  My bin usually contains items like (changes each week):
4 Braeburn Apples
3 D’Anjou Pears
3 Avocados
1 Bunch Bananas
1 Bunch of Carrots
3-4 Navel Oranges
8 oz Strawberries
3-4 Blood Red Tangerines
1 Bunch lettuce
1 Bunch Broccoli
1-2 Yellow Onions
2 lbs Yukon Gold Potatoes

And this week I got something I had never seen before Cabbage rabe. It looks like flowers but am interested in seeing what recipes I can come up with.

This week my focus was finding the best recipe for fresh green beans. I found an article on Marthas Food Everyday site with great ideas.

Season Produce via marthastewart.com

Green Bean Recipes 

Find different ways to enjoy the flavor of crisp green beans.

  Green Beans with Caramelized Shallots
  Mediterranean Salad with Green Beans and Feta
  Green Bean and Artichoke Casserole
   

Get more Green Bean recipes… –Go there Now

I will be testing out some of the recipes this week and weekend and will post my top 3 favs!

Stay tuned!

-Tara

Leave a Reply

