Cake- Antique Book

Here is a cake I made for a friend’s birthday. She is really into books and reading so I thought it would be kewl to do a book cake. This was my first attempt with using fondant. I learned fondant can be very tricky and man does it dry out fast so you have to move quick.

I used a 9 x 13 in. pan and cut it in half to make the book. The icing and filling icing was white caramel, coffee buttercreme frosting. I used white fondant (although Iforgot to flavor it), tinted brown. The cake was chocolate.

The best part of the cake process was making the decorative items and giving it that book like detail.

I had to pull all kinds of imagination out of my lil brain to make it as real as possible. I ended up making the pages, gold just like a antique book would look. I attempted to make her cat but I so need work on animals.

Check back later for a list of products I used for this cake.

You can check out the gallery below of other photos of the cake.

Leave a Reply

